h1

1850

June 18, 2008

We have our first guest post, by Aculeus upon Ordeum’s one and only Rorik. /cheer

1850.  It’s all I can think about.  It is my Holy Grail, my Unicorn, my Eleanor.  It’s my version of the movie “The Number 23”, but instead with me, it would be “The Number 1850”.  When I reach 1850, the clouds will part and angels will deliver to me my reward, one of the sexiest and deadly PvP maces in the game, the Vengeful Gladiator’s Bonegrinder.  But first, some background.

Hello all, my name is Rorik and I’m a ret paladin in Aculeus Upon Ordeum.  Siarah is the l33t heals on my 3v3 and 5v5 teams.  First, I thought I was lucky enough in finding such a relaxed and fun guild in AUO, but then I found that several of their members are PvP junkies just as much as I am.  This is where Siarah came into the picture.  As a ret paladin, there are limited options for me in arena compositions.  One of those comps is Ret/ MS Warrior/Resto Druid.  Once I found that Siarah loved PvP and I convinced her to join my 3v3 team, I thought we’d be golden.  She had skill and great gear.  I though 1850 would be within reach.  Sadly, it wasn’t.  We’ve never broken past 1550.  I know it’s possible.  I’ve read about the success of our team comp plenty of times on arenajunkies.com and retpaladin.com. 

So, what now?  Well, first, 1800 is about to become the new 1850.  So, after June 24th, I’ll be obsessing over the number 1800.  That’s going to be the new personal rating requirement for the season 3 weapon.  I’ve been trying to recruit a new 2v2 partner in hopes that if I find someone really good, we’ll do well, but I haven’t had any success finding someone.  What I’m really concerned with is that the reason we aren’t climbing the Arena ladders is that I’m just not good enough.  What’s a PvP-aholic to do if he’s not good enough to qualify for decent gear?  This is especially troubling given all the new rating requirements for season 4 gear.  Not that season 4 gear is all that much better than season 3 gear, but I’ll be maxed out on gear if I can’t climb past the 1500’s.  I’m sure I’m not the only one with this problem.  I suppose I can start buying healing if I have nothing else to spend points on. 

There is one thing that may help appease my PvP bloodlust, but it won’t be here for another 6 months, maybe longer.  No, I’m not talking about Wrath of the Lich King. 

WAR is coming…

Rorik

4 comments

  1. Rorik, I hope you aren’t thinking of moving over to Warhammer when it comes out.

    /cast Puppy Eyes (Rank 1000)

    And remind your wife I still need a post.


  2. I’m right there with you, brother!
    As much as I love my new crossbow, I miss the bangbang (and +1% crit) of the gun. I can’t wait to be good enough to get the Vengeful one.
    Great post!
    Krystofar


  3. The wife has been reminded, but she was too busy killing a Gronn Lord last night to write anything 🙂
    And I’m doing more than thinking about Warhammer Online, I’m 100% going to be playing it. They have dwarves too, you know 🙂 http://www.warhammeronline.com/armiesofWAR/dwarfs/DwarfEngineer.php


  4. […] one of our Guild mates, Rorik that has generously offered to help Siarah out.  You can read Part One, here. Krystofar “We made a couple of tough decisions. There will be no namby pamby healer-only […]



Leave a Reply

